IT WAS IN “MORRO DA SÉ” THAT THE HISTORIC CENTER OF PORTO BEGAN TO DEVELOP.
According to the archaeological analysis we carried out, the foundations of this house were built in the middle of the 19th century and may have once been an old foundry.
There are documents from the Porto City Council, which show that in 1928 the building needed rehabilitation works and that a construction master who lived on “Rua de Belomonte” asked for authorization to make some improvements.
When we acquired this house in 2017, there was nothing that could be rehabilitated, with the exception of the front facade and a beautiful stone arch on the back facade. Now, in 2021, we open this house rehabilitated, to the city and to anyone who wants to visit us. At the front it is the same as it has always been, inside it has a unique architecture, where many, many people from many countries will pass. That this house lives for long centuries is what we want, but maybe it will need rehabilitation works in 2120!
Travessa de São Sebastião, 39